BET Awards Announce 2021 Nominees List

Megan Thee Stallion and DaBaby have a chance to win big at the 21st BET Awards!

On Thursday (May 27), BET announced its 2021 award show nominees with both rappers leading the pack with seven nominations each. This year's show is set to air live on June 27 at 8 PM ET with a fully vaccinated live audience.

“We are back and excited to bring culture’s biggest night, the 2021 ‘BET Awards,’ safely back to Los Angeles to celebrate this year’s incredible roster of nominees,” Connie Orlando, EVP Specials, Music Programming & Music Strategy, said in a statement. “We broke ground as one of the first official award shows to move forward during the global pandemic and we are ready to take our pioneer status to the next level with the return of an audience to celebrate the best and brightest creative minds in the entertainment industry.”

Megan's seven noms include Best Female Hip Hop Artist, Video of the Year ("WAP"), Album of the Year (Good News), Best Collaboration for her collabs with DaBaby ("Cry Baby") and Cardi B ("WAP"), and two Viewer’s Choice Award nominations.

DaBaby's seven nominations include Best Male Hip Hop Artist, Album of the Year (Blame it on Baby), four nods for Best Collaboration for his features with Roddy Ricch (Rockstar), Megan Thee Stallion ("Cry Baby"), Pop Smoke & Lil Baby ("For The Night"), and Jack Harlow, Tory Lanez andLil Wayne ("Whats Poppin" Remix), and a Viewer’s Choice Award nomination.

Drake and Cardi have the second-most nominations with five a piece.

Last week, BET announced that the 2021 BET Awards will have a live event from the Microsoft Theater at L.A. Live. The network also shared its plan to invite vaccinated individuals to register for consideration to be a part of the audience, starting May 27th.

In a statement, the network said it will “work closely with Los Angeles County to support community vaccination efforts and ensure adherence to COVID-19 protocols.”

See below for the complete list of 2021 BET Awards nominees:

Album of the Year

After Hours– The Weeknd

Blame It On Baby– DaBaby

Good News– Megan Thee Stallion

Heaux Tales– Jazmine Sullivan

King’s Disease– Nas

Ungodly Hour– Chloe X Halle

Best Collaboration

Cardi B f/ Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

DaBaby f/ Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”

DJ Khaled f/ Drake – “Popstar”

Jack Harlow f/ DaBaby, Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne – “What’s Poppin” (Remix)

Megan Thee Stallion f/ DaBaby – “Cry Baby”

Pop Smoke f/ Lil Baby & DaBaby – “For the Night”

Best Female R&B / Pop Artist



Jazmine Sullivan

Jhené Aiko

Summer Walker


Best Male R&B / Pop Artist


Anderson .Paak

Chris Brown



The Weeknd

Best New Artist

Coi Leray

Flo Milli


Jack Harlow


Pooh Shiesty

Best Group

21 Savage & Metro Boomin

Chloe X Halle

Chris Brown & Young Thug

City Girls


Silk Sonic

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray

Doja Cat

Megan Thee Stallion



Best Male Hip Hop Artist



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Lil Baby

Pop Smoke

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Bebe Winans – “In Jesus Name”

Cece Winans – “Never Lost”

H.E.R. – “Hold Us Together”

Kirk Franklin – “Strong God”

Marvin Sapp – “Thank You For It All”

Tamela Mann – “Touch From You”

BET Her Award

Alicia Keys f/ Khalid – “So Done”

Brandy f/ Chance The Rapper – “Baby Mama”

Bri Steves – “Anti Queen”

Chloe X Halle – “Baby Girl”

Ciara f/ Ester Dean – “Rooted”

SZA – “Good Days”

Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Emicida (Brazil)

Headie One (Uk)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Young T & Bugsey (Uk)

Youssoupha (France)

Viewer’s Choice Award

Cardi B f/ Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

DaBaby f/ Roddy Ricch – “Rockstar”

DJ Khaled f/ Drake – “Popstar”

Drake f/ Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”

Lil Baby – “The Bigger Picture”

Megan Thee Stallion f/ Beyoncé – “Savage” (Remix)

Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”

Video of the Year

Cardi B – “Up”

Cardi B f/ Megan Thee Stallion – “WAP”

Chloe X Halle – “Do It”

Chris Brown & Young Thug – “Go Crazy”

Drake f/ Lil Durk – “Laugh Now Cry Later”

Silk Sonic – “Leave the Door Open”

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom

Bruno Mars And Florent Déchard

Cole Bennett

Colin Tilley

Dave Meyers

Hype Williams

Best Movie

Coming 2 America

Judas and the Black Messiah

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

One Night in Miami


The United States vs. Billie Holiday

Best Actress

Andra Day

Angela Bassett

Issa Rae

Jurnee Smollett

Viola Davis


Best Actor

Aldis Hodge

Chadwick Boseman

Damson Idris

Daniel Kaluuya

Eddie Murphy

Lakeith Stanfield

Youngstars Award

Alex R. Hibbert

Ethan Hutchison

Lonnie Chavis

Marsai Martin

Michael Epps

Storm Reid

Sportswoman of the Year Award

A’ja Wilson

Candace Parker

Claressa Shields

Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams

Skylar Diggins-Smith

Sportsman of the Year Award

Kyrie Irving

LeBron James

Patrick Mahomes

Russell Westbrook

Russell Wilson

Stephen Curry

Photo: Getty Images

View Full Site