13 States Have 'Trigger' Laws That Would Ban Abortions If Roe Is Overturned

Photo: Getty Images

A draft opinion that includes Supreme Court's potential decision to overturn Roe v. Wade obtained and released by Politico has many concerned about what that could mean for abortion rights in the immediate wake of such a ruling.

The document, which Politico has reportedly authenticated, was written by Justice Samuel Alito who argued that abortion rights weren't protected in the Constitution and go against the "history and traditions" of America.

It is important to note that Roe v. Wade has not officially been overturned and the high court's decision isn't expected until late June.

An analysis conducted by the Guttmatcher Institute shows that 23 states have laws that seek to limit access to abortion care while 13 states have "trigger laws" which would almost immediately ban abortion if the Supreme Court rules to overturn the landmark 1973 decision. Those states are : Texas, Idaho, Utah, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota, Missouri, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Tennessee, Kentucky, and Mississippi.

The Supreme Court took up another abortion case, Dobbs v. Jackson, which involves a Mississippi state law banning abortion after 15 weeks. The current federal law permits abortion up to 23 weeks when a fetus could live outside of the womb.

The case opened up the Court's potential to examine Roe in its entirety and raised alarms among abortion-rights advocates who continue to explain what these laws and their potential overturning would mean for healthcare rights overall.

Get the latest news 24/7 on The Black Information Network. Listen now on the iHeartRadio app or click HERE to tune in live.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content