All Four Members Of 'The Squad' Reelected To House

All four progressive congress members of the group dubbed "The Squad" won their respective re-election bids on Election Night Tuesday (November 3.)

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.), Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.), Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.) and Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.) were all re-elected to the United States House of Representatives despite being challenged by strong GOP campaigns.

Ocasio-Cortez's opponent, John Cummings, raised more than $10 million, while the 29-year-old Bronx native raised more than $17 million, according to the New York Times.

"Our sisterhood is resilient," Omar shared along with four separate graphics announcing each candidates victory on Twitter.

"We are building a movement," Omar added. "This is just the beginning."

The four congress members, all women of color, have been the target of intense GOP scrutiny since winning their respective jurisdictions two years ago. President Donald Trump has mockingly referred to the group as "AOC Plus Three" during numerous public appearances, including the final 2020 Presidential Debate at Belmont University in Nashville.

Additionally, the Illinois Republican County Chairman's Association shared a since-deleted mock movie poster of the group on its Facebook page calling them "The Jihad Squad," before later issuing an apology for the post.

However, the four congresswomen have said "The Squad" is a form of solidarity that extends beyond themselves and to supporters nationwide.

"Our squad is big," Pressley said during a 2019 press conference.

"Together, we have fought for our shared humanity, Pressley shared in a tweet announcing her win on Election Night. "I believe in the power of us. And we’re just getting started."

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content