Speaker Of The House Nancy Pelosi Names Nine Impeachment Managers

Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi has announced the names of the nine Democratic managers for the upcoming impeachment trial. Rep. Jamie Raskin has been named the lead manager for the second impeachment trial within the last twelve months. Joining Raskin, Reps. Diana DeGette, David Cicilline, Joaquin Castro, Eric Swalwell, Ted Lieu, Stacey Plaskett, Joe Neguse and Madeleine Dean will participate as managers for the upcoming trial.

“Tonight, I have the solemn privilege of naming the Managers of the impeachment trial of Donald Trump,” Pelosi stated.

“It is their constitutional and patriotic duty to present the case for the President’s impeachment and removal. They will do so guided by their great love of country, determination to protect our democracy and loyalty to our oath to the Constitution. Our Managers will honor their duty to defend democracy For The People with great solemnity, prayerfulness and urgency.”

Shortly after Pelosi shared the names of the nine managers, the public was informed that United States Supreme Court Justice John Roberts would preside over the second impeachment trial for former President Donald Trump, Instead, Senator Patrick Leahy will preside over the second trial. Leahy also presided over the first impeachment trial for Trump in 2020.

"The president pro tempore has historically presided over Senate impeachment trials of non-presidents," Leahy stated.

"When presiding over an impeachment trial, the president pro tempore takes an additional special oath to do impartial justice according to the Constitution and the laws. It is an oath that I take extraordinarily seriously."

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content