Eddie Murphy Set To Be Inducted Into The NAACP Image Awards Hall Of Fame

Eddie Murphy will receive the Hall of Fame award from the NAACP this year. The award is given to a "pioneer in his or her respective field and whose influence will shape the profession for generations to come." By earning this award, Murphy will be inducted into the NAACP Image Awards Hall of Fame. He joins a hall of fame that includes Oprah Winfrey, Spike Lee and Aretha Franklin.

“We are honored to celebrate one of the most influential comedic geniuses in the entertainment industry and an individual who has inspired a generation of Black talent,” NAACP CEO Derrick Johnson said.

“To this day, Eddie Murphy’s work continues to bring joy and laughter to individuals around the world, and he is an amazing example of Black excellence, creativity, and artistry.”

The Hall of Fame award will be presented by Arsenio Hall. Hall and Murphy have worked together on a number of projects over the year. Most notably, the duo starred in the 1988 film, Coming To America. This year, two reunited to release the sequel starring Teyana Taylor, Rotimi, Lisa McDowell, Wesley Snipes and Jermaine Fowler. Amazon Prime has reported that the movie's release set records during its opening weekend.

This is the latest award Murphy has picked up. Recently, Murphy picked up the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, the Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series and the BFCA Critics' Choice Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Non-televised ceremonies for the 2021 NAACP Image Awards will take place from March 22 through March 26. The televised portion will kickoff on March 27. Jazmine Sullivan and Ne-Yo are set to perform. Meanwhile, Alicia Keys, Michelle Obama, Regina King, Cynthia Erivo and many others will present awards during the televised ceremony.

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content