Beyoncé, Stevie Wonder, And More To Be Honored On Black Music Walk Of Fame

The Black Music & Entertainment Walk of Fame (BMEWOF) will induct its first round of honorees this year in Atlanta. The Walk of Fame was a joint initiative between the Black American Music Association and the Georgia Entertainment Caucus (GEC), who announced all of the legends being honored at this year’s inaugural ceremony. 

James Brown, Otis Redding, Beyoncé, Quincy Jones, OutKast, Michael Jackson, Missy Elliot, Stevie Wonder, Shirley Caesar, P. Diddy, Kirk Franklin, and Usher are the Walk’s first class of honorees. 

The formal induction ceremony is scheduled for June 17 of this year. 

“Our mission is to protect and promote the legacy and future of culture, community, entertainment and the Black American Music Art-form,” Black American Music Association co-founder Michael Mauldin said

Catherine Brewton, Black American Music Association co-founder and GEC co-chair, said, “I am extremely proud to reveal our inaugural class of inductees. Our first round of inductees includes many of my colleagues, and I am excited to celebrate their vast contributions to the preservation of Black Music and Entertainment.” 

“The BMEWOF crown jewel of excellence emblems –– designed by renowned artist D.L. Warfield and created in collaboration with sculptor and historian Ed Dwight –– will be housed in front of the Mercedes Benz Dome, one of Atlanta’s most historic landmarks,” Brewton said. 

The Black American Music Association was founded in 2017 and is a professional organization for musicians, creators, scholars and other stakeholders. 

The Georgia Entertainment Caucus is based in Atlanta and seeks to bridge together Georgia politics and its vast entertainment industry. 

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content