Oscars Invite Issa Rae, Janet Jackson, H.E.R. & More To Join Academy

Issa Rae, Jon Batiste, Janet Jackson, Jurnee Smollett, Andra Day, Leslie Odom Jr., and H.E.R. are among the artists being invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

On Thursday (July 2), the Academy announced its 2021 class, which is comprised of 395 members of the industry, “46% women, 39% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 53% international from 49 countries outside of the United States.”

If the invited members accept, they will have voting privileges at next year’s Oscars.

In a statement, the Academy shared that the elections for the members are based on “professional qualifications, with representation, inclusion, and equity remaining a priority of Academy Aperture 2025.”

Other invitees include Lizzie Borden (Born in Flames), George C. Wolfe (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom), Janizca Bravo (Zola), Shaka King (Judas and the Black Messiah), Nia DaCosta (Candyman), Cathy Yan (Birds of Prey), Craig Brewer (Hustle & Flow) and Jonathan Glazer (Under the Skin), Carrie Coon (The Nest), Kingsley Ben-Adir (One Night in Miami...), Henry Golding (Crazy Rich Asians), Clea DuVall (Zodiac), Hugh Bonneville (Paddington 2), Stephen Root (Office Space), Eiza González (Baby Driver) and Jonathan Majors (Da 5 Bloods).

See the full list of invitees HERE!

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content