The fallout from the Capitol Hill riots continues to play out in Washington, D.C. The latest domino to fall regarding the incident pertains to security measures. Members of the U.S. House of Representatives have approved a measure that would allow lawmakers to be fined up to $10,000 for avoiding metal detectors in the Capitol.
These measures are the latest step taken toward improving safety at the United States Capitol. After the events of January 6, Capitol Police implemented additional security measures including metal detectors for lawmakers. However, these measures were met with scrutiny with a few members of the GOP.
"You are creating a problem you do not understand the ramifications of," Rep. Steve Womack told security officers.
"[This is] horse----!" Rep. Andy Davis was heard yelling as he moved through security.
Things escalated when Republican congressman Andy Harris defied security protocols by trying to bring a gun into the Capitol building. Fortunately, metal detectors were able to stop Harris from bringing a firearm into his place of work. Facing intense scrutiny, Harris attempted to explain his actions by telling reporters that he was hoping to protect himself from an unrelated threat.
"Because his and his family's lives have been threatened by someone who has been released awaiting trial, for security reasons, the congressman never confirms whether he nor anyone else he's with are carrying a firearm for self-defense,'' a statement from Harris read.
"As a matter of public record, he has a Maryland Handgun Permit. And the congressman always complies with the House metal detectors and wanding. The Congressman has never carried a firearm on the House floor.''
The recent actions of Republican congress members have left many members of Congress feeling unsafe, primarily lawmakers of color.
“We had very real security concerns,” Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez said.
“We still don’t yet feel safe around other members of Congress.”
Under this new measure, lawmakers who violate security protocols will be fined $5,000 for their first offense and $10,000 for their second offense.